Rescuing a drugged up baby from the arm of a beggar

A netizen told a story of her failed attempt to rescue a drugged up Mainland Chinese baby beggar in Central, Hong Kong.
kidnap


Clora Chow: Why are beggars always holding sleeping babies? News online says that because these babies are either kidnapped by or bought from traffickers, and drugging babies up can stop them from interfering with begging!

Tonight, I saw this young woman holding a sleeping baby beg in Central. I worried that the baby was drugged up. so I squatted down to ask the “mother”. She stared at me furiously and told me off, in Mandarin. The baby didn’t wake up even under the loud noise; the baby still didn’t wake up when I touched him/her. Seeing the baby was in very light clothing, I reported to the police after discussing with two good Samaritans.

Sadly, the female officer was a bit late. The woman fled suddenly. The baby was still sleeping. I chased after the woman with the female officer and another pedestrian. But she disappeared in the crowd.

At that moment, a journalist from Sharp Daily who was shooting photos of the woman joined in. The journalist said the woman would return after hiding for a while. At last, we really saw her standing next to a building, waiting. We immediately called the female officer back.

Alas! Just half a minute late! The woman fled successfully! We couldn’t find her in the end.

I feel heartbroken for the baby.

If anyone see a beggar holding a sleeping baby in Pedder Street, please call the police immediately!

9/16/2013

A reply from her friend
kidnap2
Yeung: Things only happened in Mainland China in the past now happen in Hong Kong…. Now, we have to pay attention when we go out! I’ve to share this out!

One thought on “Rescuing a drugged up baby from the arm of a beggar

Leave a comment